Ritualistic Forums

Go Back   Ritualistic Forums > Ritual Entertainment Games > SiN, SiN Steam & Wages of Sin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2004, 08:48 PM   #1
Slyda
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 7
Default help me with remote console plz (making ctf svr)

hey its me Destroya @ heat.net / SiNNeD DeNNiS / Slyda whatever ya wanna call me... alot of players probably remember me... badman... ninken... icculus... i know u know me, we used to game back in the day :P anyways... im trying to get the sin community growin a lil again... im bringing a new stable ctf server online for the community... but i only have remote access on the machine.... after doing /rcon blablabla and logging into the server how do i execute the "set game ctf, set ctf 1, map ctf_fetus" commands on the server? it usually tries loading a game locally when i do that and its pissing me off... is there a list of remote commands anywhere or can someone just tell me? thanks
Slyda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 03:49 AM   #2
Bad_Bud
Casual
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 32
Default Re: help me with remote console plz (making ctf sv

Hmm, I might be able to set SiN up on my mom's win 98 computer...
Bad_Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 07:28 AM   #3
badman
Sheep Inspector
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,247
Send a message via ICQ to badman Send a message via AIM to badman Send a message via MSN to badman
Default Re: help me with remote console plz (making ctf svr)

I would just create config files for the various gametypes, ie. a ctf.cfg, deathmatch.cfg etc, so you can just call the entire cfg file via the console.
badman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 12:34 PM   #4
lateq
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
Posts: 18
Default Re: help me with remote console plz (making ctf sv

Great, let's revive the SiN scene :P
I'm already running a FFA server, if deathmatchers are interested. Now it's a bit more stabile, but far from perfect.
lateq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 12:56 PM   #5
badman
Sheep Inspector
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,247
Send a message via ICQ to badman Send a message via AIM to badman Send a message via MSN to badman
Default Re: help me with remote console plz (making ctf sv

I'm not seeing your server in ASE. :| Is it running at the moment?
badman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 01:25 PM   #6
Slyda
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 7
Default Re: help me with remote console plz (making ctf svr)

um ya great... ok ill make config files... but how do i make the server load those... i wanna force map change/gametype change via rcon at any time... can someone hook me up with the console commands please? thx... and my server will be running once i can control it properly and will be on GSA
Slyda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 01:31 PM   #7
Slyda
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 7
Default Re: help me with remote console plz (making ctf svr)

ohya... the server will be in europe (.de)... with 384kbit upstream... not alot but it should be able to host 8 ppl or so... and if this all works out i might bring 2 more 10mbit servers up as well... one in .usa and the other in .ca... im also talking to ALL my friends and getting them to dig out their sin cd's and start fraggin again.... id appreciate if every member of the sin scene would do the same... im sure ritual wont mind if u pass on the game the less fortunate neither... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Slyda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 02:02 PM   #8
Grandpapa
Fanatic
 
Grandpapa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Northern side of the earth.
Posts: 2,183
Default Re: help me with remote console plz (making ctf svr)

You have a message which should explain it [img]/forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
Grandpapa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 02:21 PM   #9
badman
Sheep Inspector
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,247
Send a message via ICQ to badman Send a message via AIM to badman Send a message via MSN to badman
Default Re: help me with remote console plz (making ctf svr)

Once you've put the cfg files in your \base\ directory, you can call them like this in order to switch gametypes:

rcon exec ctf.cfg
rcon exec deathmatch.cfg

Maps can be changed in the usual fashion:

rcon map <mapname> (ie. rcon map ctf_spry)

I'd still add a proper map list to each of the cfg files so you don't have to do it all manually. Your CTF config file should then look something like this:

set maxclients 16
set ctf 1
set capturelimit 5
set allow_download 1
set sv_maplist "ctf_spry,ctf_kungfu,ctf_hip,ctf_brafish,ctf_para, ctf_zor,ctf_fetus,ctf_barge,ctf_defense,SINnlos_ct f_v2"
map ctf_spry
badman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 02:26 PM   #10
Grandpapa
Fanatic
 
Grandpapa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Northern side of the earth.
Posts: 2,183
Default Re: help me with remote console plz (making ctf svr)

hehe, baddy was faster [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Grandpapa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 03:48 PM   #11
Slyda
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 7
Default Re: help me with remote console plz (making ctf svr)

thx alot guys... much appreciated [img]/forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] i know theres been several failed attempts to revive the sin community but theyve all failed cuz people have lost interest... it would be nice to see some people actually playing sin... i mean theres absolutly noone playing it... so wtf... this is bullshit... sin is hardcore shit... i consider it one of the "main" games like quake/ut/sof... there should be a sequel... if u want to see sin2 ever come out the community must grow for one thing and then maybe help finance it... maybe with a fundraiser or someshit... but if that happens the official game release MUST BE free... or at least to those people that helped raise the loot... i dunno ... i saw someone else suggest that they should give sin away.... i mean the source is out there... so they kinda did already but most home users cant do anything with that... a compiled version should be available for download ... i think that would help alot... anyways... just my 2 words :>
Slyda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 04:25 PM   #12
lateq
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
Posts: 18
Default Re: help me with remote console plz (making ctf sv

Quote:
Originally posted by badman:
I'm not seeing your server in ASE. :| Is it running at the moment?
It's running "all the time", but I don't know why doesn't it appear on ASE. Try refreshing SiN internet serverlist, it should be there.
lateq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 05:45 PM   #13
badman
Sheep Inspector
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,247
Send a message via ICQ to badman Send a message via AIM to badman Send a message via MSN to badman
Default Re: help me with remote console plz (making ctf sv

Nope, nothing there. What's the IP?
badman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 06:21 PM   #14
lateq
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
Posts: 18
Default Re: help me with remote console plz (making ctf sv

Weird. There has already been players and all..
The IP is 80.222.209.223 and port should be 22450 (80.222.209.223:22450)
but if I write "connect 80.222.209.223:22450", it gets me nowhere. I have to just connect from the serverlist, so I don't know if the ip address is any use for you.
Sorry about the offtopic.
lateq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 06:31 PM   #15
badman
Sheep Inspector
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,247
Send a message via ICQ to badman Send a message via AIM to badman Send a message via MSN to badman
Default Re: help me with remote console plz (making ctf sv

Just added it manually and it shows up normally now. Weird.
badman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 09:22 AM   #16
Grandpapa
Fanatic
 
Grandpapa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Northern side of the earth.
Posts: 2,183
Default Re: help me with remote console plz (making ctf sv

Shows up on gsa, though, so everything is ok. With ASE, user made sin servers ip's should be added manually. Maybe ASE support knows how to add your server shoving up there for everyone.
Grandpapa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.